News - Details

Tyler Adams and Matt Olosunde named to U.S. U-17 FIFA World Cup roster


HARRISON, N.J. (October 1, 2015) – U.S. Under-17 Men’s National Team head coach Richie Williams has named New York Red Bulls II’s Tyler Adams and Red Bulls Academy player Matt Olosunde to the 21-player roster that will represent the United States at the 2015 FIFA U-17 World Cup, which runs from Oct. 17 – Nov. 8 in Chile.

Adams, a native of Wappingers Falls, N.Y., is the only player on the 21-man roster born in 1999. The Red Bulls Academy product has appeared in 11 matches with New York Red Bulls II this season since signing with the United Soccer League (USL) affiliate of the New York Red Bulls. The midfielder made his First Team debut as a starter in the International Champions Cup (ICC) against Chelsea FC on July 22, and scored his first professional goal. He made his second First Team start against Benfica in the ICC and played the first half.

Olosunde, a 17-year old defender from Trenton, N.J., spent the 2014-15 season in residency at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Fla., with the U-17 National Team. He has previously spent time with the Red Bulls U-16 squad and plays both center back and right back. Olosunde, along with Adams, represented the U.S. at the CONCACAF U-17 Championships in Honduras in February. There the squad secured a spot in the 2015 FIFA U-17 World Cup in Chile by beating Jamaica in a play-off game to end the tournament. The pair were also recently called into U.S. U-17 camp for a pair of friendlies against Mexico in September.

The U-17’s were drawn into Group A with host Chile, Croatia and Nigeria and open group play against Nigeria on Oct. 17 at 4 p.m. ET in Santiago. The team will then square off with Croatia on Oct. 20 at 4 p.m. ET in Vina Del Mar and Chile on Oct. 23 at 7 p.m. ET in Vina Del Mar.

A total of 24 countries participate in the tournament. The top two teams in each group, as well as the best four third-place teams, advance to the Round of 16 on Oct. 28 and 29.

Roster by Position:

GOALKEEPERS (3):  Eric Lopez (LA Galaxy II; Westminster, Calif.), William Pulisic (Richmond United; Mechanicsville, Va.), Kevin Silva (Players Development Academy; Bethlehem, Pa.)
DEFENDERS (8): Tyler Adams (New York Red Bulls II; Wappinger Falls, N.Y.), Hugo Arellano (LA Galaxy Academy; Norwalk, Calif.), Danny Barbir (West Bromwich Albion; Allentown, Penn.), Tanner Dieterich (Real Salt Lake Academy; Nashville, Tenn.), John Nelson (Internationals; Medina, Ohio), Matthew Olosunde (New York Red Bulls Academy; Trenton, N.J.), Auston Trusty (Philadelphia Union Academy; Media, Pa.), Alexis Velela (New York Cosmos; San Diego, Calif.)
MIDFIELDERS (5): Eric Calvillo (Real So Cal; Palmdale, Calif.), Luca de la Torre (Fulham F.C. San Diego, Calif.), Thomas McCabe (Players Development Academy; South Orange, N.J.), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund; Hershey, Pa.), Alejandro Zendejas (FC Dallas; El Paso, Tex.)
FORWARDS (5): Pierre da Silva (Orlando City SC Academy; Port Chester, N.Y.), Joe Gallardo (C.F. Monterrey; San Diego, Calif.), Josh Perez (Unattached; La Habra, Calif.), Brandon Vazquez (Club Tijuana; Chula Vista, Calif.), Haji Wright (New York Cosmos; Los Angeles, Calif.)

Back to news