News - Details

Three Red Bulls academy players called up to U.S. Under-20 National Team camp

Marcello Borges (right) with New York Red Bulls II

HARRISON, N.J. (January 6, 2015) – United States Under-20 head coach Tab Ramos called in Marcello Borges, Andrew Lombard and Matt Olosunde to a 36-player camp for the first U-20 MNT camp of 2016 in Miami.

Borges (Kearny, N.J.), a freshman at Michigan, returns to the U.S. U-20 MNT after playing with the squad in 2015. In his first year of college he played 11 games, including five starts, as a winger. Prior to college, he played for the Red Bulls academy since 2010, and even played two games with New York Red Bulls II, the Red Bulls’ professional United Soccer League team.

Lombard (Montclair, N.J.), a freshman at Northeastern, also returns to the U.S. U-20 MNT after playing with the side in 2015. In his first college season he started 13 games for the Huskies. Prior to college, the defender played for the Red Bulls academy and helped his team to an 18-4 record and No. 4 national ranking.

Olosunde (Trenton, N.J.), a 17-year old defender and current member of the Red Bulls academy, spent the 2014-15 season in residency at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Fla., with the U.S. U-17 National Team. He has previously spent time with the Red Bulls U-16 squad and plays both center back and right back. Last year, Olosunde played with Tyler Adams in the 2015 FIFA U-17 World Cup. There he started the first game, but was forced out of the tournament with an injury.

The camp will also include the team’s first four matches of the new year. On Jan. 8, the U-20s will take on local all-star team CASA, followed by Weston FC of the National Premier Soccer League. On Jan. 12, the U.S. will play two opponents which are TBD.

U.S. U-20 Camp Roster:

Goalkeepers (4): Jonathan Klinsmann (Cal), JT Marcinkowski (Georgetown, San Jose Earthquakes Academy), Mason Stajduhar (Orlando City), Justin Vom Steeg (UCSB)

Defenders (12): Danilo Acosta (Real Salt Lake), Hugo Arellano (LA Galaxy Academy), Jonathan Bell (D.C. United), Marcello Borges (Michigan, New York Red Bulls Academy), David Burns (Sacramento Republic), Aaron Herrera (New Mexico, Real Salt Lake Academy), Malcolm Jones (UCLA, LA Galaxy Academy), Andrew Lombard (Northeastern, New York Red Bulls Academy), Mauricio Pineda (Chicago Fire Academy), Tommy Redding (Orlando City), Miles Robinson (Syracuse), Diego Silva (Maryland, Real Salt Lake Academy)

Midfielders (11): Amir Bashti (Stanford, San Jose Earthquakes Academy), Joshua Doughty (Manchester United), Cam Lindley (Indiana Fire Academy, a Chicago Fire affiliate), Lucas Mendes (D.C. United Academy), Matt Olosunde (New York Red Bulls Academy), Martin Salas (North Carolina, FC Dallas Academy), Yosef Samuel (Philadelphia Union), Evan Waldrep (Creighton, Real Salt Lake Academy), Eryk Williamson (Maryland, D.C. United Academy), Jackson Yueill (UCLA), Alex Zendejas (FC Dallas)

Forwards (9): Coy Craft (FC Dallas), Jeremy Ebobisse (Duke), Sebastian Elney (Maryland, Philadelphia Union Academy), Juan Flores (RGV FC Toros, a Houston Dynamo affiliate), Victor Mansaray (Seattle Sounders), Josh Perez (Fiorentina), Emmanuel Sabbi (Chicago Magic), Abu Winter (Philadelphia Union), Isaiah Young (PDA)

Back to news