News - Details

Marcello Borges and Andrew Lombard named to U.S. U-20 NTC Invitational Roster

Marcello Borges - Red Bulls U-23

HARRISON, N.J. – New York Red Bulls academy products Marcello Borges and Andrew Lombard have been called into the U.S. U-20 Men’s National Team by head coach Tab Ramos for the upcoming 2016 NTC Invitational taking place from June 26-July 4 in Carson, California.

Borges, a native of Kearny, N.J., is a freshman at Michigan and a former New York Red Bulls II player. In his first year of college he played 11 games, including five starts, as a winger. Prior to college, he represented the Red Bulls academy for five years and played two games for Red Bulls II as an amateur. Prior to joining the academy, Borges also played with the Red Bulls’ Kearny RDS and Showcase teams from 2009-10.

Lombard, a native of Montclair, N.J., is a freshman defender at Northeastern. In his first college season he started 13 games for the Huskies. Prior to college, the defender played for the Red Bulls academy and helped his team to an 18-4 record and a No. 4 national ranking. Before joining the academy, Lombard played for the Red Bulls’ Franklin Lakes RDS team in 2010.

The second annual U-20 Men’s tournament held at the U.S. Soccer National Training Center in Carson, Calif., will be the second tournament of 2016 for Ramos and the U-20s as the U.S. recently competed in the 2016 Dallas Cup, defeating CF Monterrey Rayados 1-0, falling to Fulham FC 1-2 and drawing TSG 1899 Hoffenheim 3-3. Both Borges and Lombard were full participants in Dallas Cup as well.

The U.S. last competed in the inaugural NTC Invitational in 2014, drawing Australia 0-0 in the title match, and subsequently winning the tournament as the USA’s goal differential was better than Australia’s.

All matches of the 2016 tournament will be streamed on The U.S. will face Costa Rica on June 29 at 9 p.m. ET, Panama on July 1 at 9 p.m. ET and finish up against Japan on July 3 at 6 p.m. ET.

U.S. U-20 Roster (21-players):

GOALKEEPERS (2): Jonathan Klinsmann (University of California; Newport Beach, Calif.), JT Marcinkowski (Georgetown; Alamo, Calif.)

DEFENDERS (9): Hugo Arellano (LA Galaxy; Norwalk, Calif.), Marcello Borges (Michigan; Kearny, N.J.), Marlon Fossey (Fulham FC; Surbiton, Great Britain), Aaron Herrera (New Mexico; Casa Grande, Ariz.), Andrew Lombard (Northeastern; Montclair, N.J.), Tommy Redding (Orlando City SC; Oviedo, Fla.), Miles Robinson (Syracuse; Arlington, Mass.), Auston Trusty (Bethlehem Steel; Media, Pa.)

MIDFIELDERS (6): Mukwelle Akale (Villarreal CF; Minneapolis, Minn.), Luca De La Torre (Fulham FC; San Diego, Calif.), Weston McKinnie (FC Dallas; Little Elm, Texas), Eryk Williamson (Maryland; Alexandria, Va.), Jackson Yueill (UCLA; Bloomington, Minn.)

FORWARDS (5): Coy Craft (FC Dallas; Frisco, Texas), Jeremy Ebobisse (Duke; Bethesda, Md.), Victor Mansaray (Seattle Sounders FC; Des Moines, Wash.), Emmanuel Sabbi (Chicago Magic, Libertyville, Ill.), Sebastian Saucedo (Veracruz; Casa Grande, Ariz.)

Back to news